個人簡介

“原創且富詩意,充滿情感且激起憐憫,沒有依附於電影畫面卻以一種闡釋的方式來詮釋。對於我沒有辦法寫出這樣風格類型的作品,我因此感到嫉妒,我想這就是我本人最極限的讚美。不管你是誰,恭喜你,你做得很好!”

 

 ── 美國第二屆CINE電影配樂比賽三位評審:

Mychael Danna(奧斯卡金像獎得主、《少年Pi的奇幻漂流》電影作曲家)、George S. Clinton(伯克利音樂學院電影音樂系主任)、Daniel Carlin(南加州大學桑頓音樂學院電影音樂部門主任)

 

 

作曲家黃乾育(1983 – )是臺灣桃園人,其作品已經在台灣和美國被獨奏家與演奏團體演出。乾育的作品受東西方的影響,結合多種元素而成一充滿能量的語言。除了在音樂會作品上的多元創作,他也致力為影像和戲劇寫曲,並已獲得臺美兩地不同創作領域的多項獎項肯定。

 

黃乾育於2005年從國立臺灣師範大學取得藝術學學士學位,次年獲得該校優秀學生之木鐸獎獎章。於2008年從新英格蘭音樂學院 (New England Conservatory of Music)獲得音樂碩士學位。於2014年初獲得加州大學洛杉磯分校 (University of California, Los Angeles)音樂哲學作曲博士學位。作曲曾師事陳茂萱、李和莆(文彬)、John Mallia、Paul Chihara、David Lefkowitz、Ian Krouse和Mark Carlson。並曾在課堂外接受作曲家Larry Sitsky、Jim Cotter、Richard Cornell和Bright Sheng (盛宗亮) 的個別指導。私下曾和參與《魔戒三部曲》(2002、2003)、《金剛》(2005)、《雨果的冒險》(2011)等好萊塢大製作的錄音/混音師Tim Starnes學習混音、和出身Hans Zimmer工作室(Remote Control Productions)的好萊塢電影音樂作曲家Daniel Rojas學習音樂製作。

 

2016年11月,擔任第53屆金馬獎頒獎典禮視覺藝術作曲家,為典禮片頭動畫和22支各類獎項片頭製作音樂。2014年10月,獲得由文化部所主辦的2014文創之星創意加值競賽(影視音類—­創意團隊組)第二名。同年8月,寫給三件獨奏樂器與管弦樂團、他為第25屆傳統藝術金曲獎頒獎典禮所改編的經典歌劇詠嘆調選曲於直播節目中演出。2014年初參加美國第二屆CINE電影配樂比賽的作品,被選入最佳30件配樂。2011年,歌曲《月在日月潭》入選由南投縣政府舉辦的日月潭歌曲創作比賽。兩首分別寫給初年級和中年級弦樂團的作品《晨禱》(Matin)和《詩篇 x 3》(Poem x 3)入選由國立臺灣藝術教育館主辦的2011年臺灣本土音樂教材創作弦樂曲徵選比賽。同年,為動畫導演紀柏舟的動畫短片《光之塔》(The Lighthouse)所寫的配樂,獲得洛杉磯新潮流國際電影節(The Los Angeles New Wave International Film Festival)最佳原創音樂獎;同部作品於2010年,被莫菲立克電影獎(Maverick Movie Awards)和洛杉磯膠卷電影節(Los Angeles Reel Film Festival)提名為最佳原創音樂。此作品自2011年3月於YouTube上線以來,已突破250萬次點閱。

 

2010年6月,從543件來自世界各地的參賽作品中,獲得The Indie Gathering國際電影配樂比賽榮譽獎,得獎作品於該年8月在The Indie Gathering國際電影節(美國俄亥俄州克里夫蘭市)公開放映。同年,獲得臺灣教育部乙案留學獎學金。2009年,為臺北聽障奧林匹克運動會創作兩首進行曲:《艷陽下的飛行器》(The Craft Flying under Sunlight)、《在草原上奔馳》(Running on the Grassland),作品由臺北市立交響樂團錄音,於運動會期間播放。管弦樂作品《鄉》(Homeland)獲選為2009年臺北市立交響樂團40周年團慶管弦樂作品徵選比賽之得獎作品,並於2009年6月由指揮辛明峰和臺北市立交響樂團以音樂會形式在中山堂中正廳錄音演出。

 

弦樂四重奏作品《純粹聲波》(Pure Sound Waves),獲選為2008年由美國作曲家協會 (SCI) 與美國作曲人、作家和出版商協會(ASCAP)所合辦的學生委託創作作曲比賽的第一區優勝者(全美共分七大區)。寫給兩管編制的管弦樂作品,《夢》(Dreams)獲選為2008年由ERM Media舉辦的新世紀傑作獎(Masterworks of the New Era),作品於同年2月由指揮Robert Ian Winstin和基輔愛樂(Kiev Philharmonic)錄音。為舞台劇《水鬼城隍爺》(Water Ghost, City God)創作其中一幕的音樂:《閻羅王》(King of Hell)。此劇音樂於2006年由華納唱片發行,並入圍2007年第18屆金曲獎最佳古典音樂專輯。作品《建構在光與影》(Construct on Light and Shadow),為2005年由許常惠基金會所舉辦的青年作曲者傑出作品甄選、演奏比賽之優選作品。《臺灣風俗三篇》(Three Taiwanese Customs),為2005年由教育部所舉辦的文藝創作獎之佳作作品,此作品亦為2004年由文建會所舉辦的福爾摩沙作曲比賽室內樂組的入圍作品。

 

黃乾育的音樂已在臺灣國家音樂廳、國家演奏廳、國家戲劇廳、新舞台、中山堂、十方樂集、 臺北戲棚台泥士敏廳、市長官邸藝文沙龍、高雄市音樂館、高雄市岡山文化中心演藝廳、師大音樂廳、北藝大音樂廳、東吳大學松怡廳、新英格蘭音樂學院的Brown Hall、Williams Hall、加州大學洛杉磯分校(UCLA)的Jan Popper Theater和Schoenberg Hall等地演出。乾育於2011 – 2013年擔任UCLA研究生助教,同時期也被智慧型手機製造商宏達電(HTC)簽約為廣告音樂作曲家。求學期間所參與的影片製作已入圍、獲得的電影相關獎項、或者徵選後受邀請參加的影展,包括Adobe設計卓越大獎、學生奧斯卡西岸決選、美國官方電影節精選、金穗獎、加州電影獎、洛杉磯電影獎、美國影視金鷹競賽、金馬影展、坎城影展、好萊塢學生動畫影展(學生安妮獎)、美國電影節、好萊塢電影節、好萊塢國際家庭電影節、加州獨立電影節、紐約花園州電影節、洛杉磯電影節、洛杉磯亞太電影節、聖地牙哥亞洲電影節、羅德島國際電影節、長島國際專業電影節、台北電影節、安格拉治國際電影節等超過50個來自世界各地的電影界榮譽。

 

自2014年9月起,受聘國立臺灣師範大學音樂學系(2014年8月 – )、天主教輔仁大學音樂系(2014年9月 – )、東吳大學音樂學系(2014年9月 – )、國立中山大學音樂學系(2015年2月 – 2015年7月)、臺北市立大學音樂學系(2015年8月 – )、國立清華大學音樂學系(2017年8月 – )等多校兼任助理教授。已開設課程包含作曲、應用音樂作曲、樂曲分析(音樂分析)、樂器學概論、管弦樂法(配器法)、二十世紀音樂研究、1945年後音樂解析、數位音樂與流行音樂應用(Pro Tools)、電腦音樂(Logic Pro)、科技融入音樂教學研究、數位音樂在產業上的應用、影像配樂、特定主題音樂創作(電影音樂創作)、製譜軟體實務與應用、基礎製譜與電腦應用、進階製譜與商用編曲(Cubase)、音樂科技導論、電腦音樂與應用。

 

2015年開始,為光之塔動畫事業有限公司特約作曲家,並常態性地接受音樂會作品、樂曲改編、商業廣告、電影和其他視覺媒體等的委託音樂創作。

 

下載履歷(含作品列表)(PDF)

About

 “Original and poetic, full of emotion and pathos, not tied to the film but illustrating it. I felt envious that I would never write something like this, which I guess is the ultimate compliment. Congrats whoever you are, you got it right! “

 

– The three judges of The 2nd Annual CINE Film Scoring Competition for Emerging Composers:

Mychael Danna (Academy Awards winner, Life of Pi film composer), George S. Clinton (Chair of Berklee College of Music’s Film Scoring Department), Daniel Carlin (Chair of Film Scoring at USC’s Thornton School of Music)

 

 

Originally from Taoyuan, Taiwan, composer Chien-Yu Huang (1983 – )’s music has been performed by ensembles and soloists throughout Taiwan and the United States. Huang’s music combines many different elements into an invigorating language which blends both Eastern and Western influences. He has been involved in writing diverse music not only for concert, but also for film and theater, and has been honored by many awards from various compositional fields in the US and Taiwan.

 

In November 2016, Mr. Huang, as the composer for the 53rd Golden Horse Awards Ceremony’s Visual Art, produced music for the opening animation and 22 pieces of awards’ opening titles. Chien-Yu was ranked 2nd place (Audiovisual and Music Category—Innovative Team) in the 2014 Cultural Creative Value-Adding Expert Competition held by the Ministry of Culture of Taiwan in October 2014. He rearranged a work combining four classic opera arias for three solo instruments and orchestra that was performed and live broadcast during the ceremony of the 25th Golden Melody Awards for Traditional Arts and Music Competition in August 2014. His entry for the 2nd Annual CINE Film Scoring Competition for Emerging Composers achieved the Top 30 in early 2014. In 2011, his song Moon in Sun Moon Lake was selected by the Sun Moon Lake Songwrighting Contest held by Nantou County Government, Taiwan. His two string orchestra works Matin and Poem x 3 respectively written for the junior and senior high school students won the composition competition held by National Taiwan Arts Education Center. The two compositions are used as teaching materials for the youth string orchestras at high schools in Taiwan since then. Mr. Huang’s score for the short animation The Lighthouse directed and animated by director Po Chou Chi won Best Original Score Award from The Los Angeles New Wave International Film Festival in 2011 and was nominated for Best Original Score by Maverick Movie Awards and Los Angeles Reel Film Festival in 2010. This film has exceeded 2.5 million views on YouTube since it was uploaded in March 2011.

 

As one of the 543 worldwide entries, he received the honorable mention from The Indie Gathering International Film Scoring Competition in June 2010. The winning score was publicly screened in The Indie Gathering International Film Festival in Cleveland, Ohio in August 2010. In the same year, he was honored as a recipient of the Study Abroad Scholarship run by Taiwan’s government. He wrote two marches The Craft Flying under Sunlight and Running on the Grassland for the 21st Summer Deaflympics Taipei in 2009. These pieces were recorded by Taipei Symphony Orchestra and played during the games. His orchestral composition Homeland won the composition competition held by Taipei Symphony Orchestra for the 40th anniversary celebration of the foundation of the orchestra. The work was performed and recorded by Taipei Symphony Orchestra under guest conductor Ming-Feng Hsin as a repertoire in the concert at the Zhongcheng Auditorium of Zhongshan Hall in June 2009.

 

His string quartet, Pure Sound Waves, completed in 2007, was the winner of the 1st region—out of the total seven regions spread out the US—in the 2008 SCI/ASCAP student composition competition. His work, Dreams, written for double-wind orchestra won the 2008 Masterworks of the New Era competition held by ERM Media. The piece was recorded by Kiev Philharmonic under conductor Robert Ian Winstin. His chamber work, King of Hell, written for a scene of the stage drama Water Ghost, City God was released on CD by Warner Music in 2006. In 2007, the album was a finalist in the “Best Classical Album” category of the 18th Golden Melody Awards. In 2005, chamber music Construct on Light and Shadow won an award of excellence in the Xu Chang-Hui Foundation of Culture and Education composition competition. His composition Three Taiwanese Customs won an outstanding award in the Literature and Art Awards competition held by Taiwan’s Ministry of Education in 2005, and was also a finalist in the 2004 Formosa Composition Competition—Chamber Music Category that was administered by Taiwan’s Council for Cultural Affairs.

 

Chien-Yu’s compositions have been heard in National Concert Hall (TWN), National Recital Hall (TWN), National Theater (TWN), Novel Hall for Performing Arts, Zhongcheng Auditorium of Zhongshan Hall, The Forum Auditorium, Taipei Eye Theater, The Mayor’s Residence Arts Salon (TWN), Kaohsiung Music Hall, Performance Hall of the Gangshan Cultural Center, Concert Hall of National Taiwan Normal University, The Performing Arts Center of Taipei National University of the Arts, Soochow University Performing Arts Center (TWN), Brown Hall of New England Conservatory of Music, Williams Hall of New England Conservatory of Music, Jan Popper Theater of UCLA, and Schoenberg Hall of UCLA. Huang was a graduate teaching assistant/associate at UCLA from 2011 to 2013, and concurrently, a contracted composer mainly writing promotional music for the smartphone manufacturer HTC. While pursuing for his doctorate, he has composed music for many film productions that have been granted, nominated or invited to screen by more than 50 film awards and festivals. They are including Adobe Design Achievement Awards, 38th Student Academy Awards (Student Oscar), Official Best of Fest, Golden Harvest Awards for Outstanding Short Films (TWN), California Film Award, Los Angeles Movie Award, CINE Golden Eagle Competition, Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival, Cannes Film Festival, ASIFA-Hollywood AEEF Student Animation Festival, USA Film Festival, Hollywood Film Festival, International Family Film Festival, California Independent Film Festival, Garden State Film Festival, Los Angeles Cinema Festival, The Los Angeles Asian Pacific Film Festival, San Diego Asian Film Festival, Rhode Island International Film Festival, The Long Island International Film Expo Best Animation, Taipei Film Festival, and Anchorage International Film Festival, among many others.

 

Mr. Huang received his Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the National Taiwan Normal University in 2005, and obtained the Mu-Dou award for student excellence from the university in the following year. In 2008, he received his Master of Music degree from the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston, Massachusetts. He received his Ph.D. in composition from the University of California, Los Angeles in 2014. Huang’s composition teachers were Mao-Shuen Chen, Hope (W.P.) Lee, John Mallia, Paul Chihara, Ian Krouse, David Lefkowitz, and Mark Carlson. Additional studies were with Larry Sitsky, Jim Cotter, Richard Cornell, and Bright Sheng. In addition, he had private lessons of mixing and mastering with music editor/engineer Tim Starnes who has worked for many blockbuster films including The Lord of the Rings (2002, 2003), King Kong (2005), and Hugo (2011), and was given instruction in music production by Daniel Rojas who is a Hollywood composer from the Remote Control Productions run by Hans Zimmer.

 

Since September 2014, Mr. Huang has been an Adjunct Assistant Professor of the music department at the National Taiwan Normal University (Sept 2014 – ), the Fu Jen Catholic University (Sept 2014 – ), the Soochow University (Sept 2014 – ), the National Sun Yat-sen University (Feb 2015 – Jun 2015), and the University of Taipei (Sept 2015 – ). The courses he has taught encompass Music Composition, Applied Music Composition, Musical Analysis (Music Analysis), Orchestration, Digital Music and Applied Pop Music (Pro Tools), Computer Music (Logic Pro), The Study of Integrating Technology into the Music Instruction, Film Scoring, Special Topics on Music Composition (Film Scoring), Computer Application and Basic Music Notation Software, The Fundamentals & Extensive Usages of Finale Computer Notation, Arrangement and Advanced Music Notation Software (Cubase), Introduction to Music Technology, Computer Music and Application.

 

Chien-Yu Huang has been appointed the composer of the MangoWork Studio for which he has been regularly commissioned to write music for commercials, films, and other visual media since 2015.

 

Download Resume (PDF)